Reviews

Mikescapes Pty Ltd

(4 reviews)
Tell a friend Tell a friend

Website:

www.mikescapes.com.au External link

Business location:

Eight Mile Plains, QLD, 4113

Is this business a franchise?

No ()

Trades/service listed for this business:

  • Landscaping
  • Paving
  • Project Managers
  • Landscape design
Ratings (average)
Overall rating:
2
Quality:
2
Reliability:
2
Accuracy of quote:
2
Communication:
1
Overall ratings (4 reviews)
Very good
0
Good
0
OK
1
Poor
1
Very poor
2

Reviews for this business

(4 reviews)
Sort by: Date submitted | Rating
1
I agree with literally every word that Queenslander has written. In fact we are so anguished about our experience with this firm and the owner that even after 2 years we have not been able to get over it (as we see the work from our kitchen everyday) and today sought out to look for reviews on this firm so that we could warn others not to even entertain the thought of engaging with them. As Queenslander writes the owner shows up, collects the money and scoots off without ever bothering to address the concerns. Then he resorts to sending abusive SMSs to get the final payment and doesn't hesitate to threaten you. He has literally no knowledge of the landscaping business and entirely depends on one or two workers to do the actual work who are equally incompetent. In short, dealing with Mikescapes is a disaster from start to finish and the experience will traumatise you for a long time. Be fore warned!!!
Comments on this review (
0
comments)
Reviewer: Brisbanite
Submitted: 25 October 2014

Job type:
External improvement
Start/Finish
Sep 2012 to Nov 2012
Job location:
Brisbane, QLD, 4000

Trades/services used:
Landscaping
Landscape design

Tell a friendTell a friend

Overall rating
1
Quality
1
Accuracy of quote
1
Reliability
1
Communication
1
1
Warning! Do not award any work to Mikescapes. Mikescapes operates as a lead contractor only, he will use sub-contractors to do the actual work. Mikescapes will only provide a handover meeting at the start of the work and withheld from any other supervision. Even when urgently requested to provide supervision he will not turn up at the work again. The resulting quality of the final product will very likely be below acceptable standards. Mikescapes will refuse any responsibility for the quality of the work and proceed with threats, weird excuses, cursing and other forceful behaviour in order to obtain full payment for an unacceptable job. In short, by hiring Mikescapes you risk entering a very stressful and frustrating period and due to your wish to close out this period you will end up with an unacceptable result and heaps of heartache. Also see http://archive.sclqld.org.au/qjudgment/2010/QCAT10-248.pd
Comments on this review (
0
comments)
Reviewer: queenslander
Submitted: 4 November 2013

Job type:
External improvement
Start/Finish
Aug 2013 to Oct 2013
Job location:
Brisbane, QLD, 4000

Trades/services used:
Paving

Tell a friendTell a friend

Overall rating
1
Quality
1
Accuracy of quote
1
Reliability
1
Communication
1
2
Mikescapes were engaged to build an outdoor entertainment area at our residence in Brisbane.

Whilst there were some difficulties experienced with the trades we received handover in July of 2012. At that time we were pleased with the final product though over the past 2-3 months, defects in some of the materials now give the structure an extremely poor finish and in particular the timber used in its construction.

The issue was raised with the contractor and having been responsible for sourcing the materials and all construction, we expected more concern and assistance in resolving the problem. Rather the contractor provided us with the supplier's details and left the running around to us and was not even prepared to meet on site with the representative essentially absolving himself of any further interaction or responsibility.

We have since found further problems and have had to refer the complaint to the Queensland Building Services Authority (BSA) in escalation of the issue. Overall, it was very much a 'high maintenance' effort on our behalf and the latter part of the experience could have been better managed by effecive communication rather than the contractor becoming extremely defensive.

We are now also aware that the BSA has recorded fines and points and ordered rectification work to be performed by the contractor in the past.

Personnally, we would not recommend ths company.
Comments on this review (
0
comments)
Reviewer: pjenkinsa
Submitted: 17 December 2012

Job type:
External improvement
Start/Finish
May 2012 to Jun 2012
Job location:
Runcorn, QLD, 4113

Trades/services used:
Landscaping

Tell a friendTell a friend

Overall rating
2
Quality
2
Accuracy of quote
3
Reliability
3
Communication
1
3
We used Mikescapes to plan, design and carry out our backyard landscaping renovation. Don’t use this company unless you are home all day to supervise – the team is not supervised by the designer/owner unless you call and insist they come on site. Had we not been around, our retaining wall would have been 1 metre too high, the garden wider than the plan instructed, and we would have had different coloured pavers to the ones we chose, including grout!

Admittedly the company got the grout supplier in to look at the different colour even though the two bags were identical and in the end they fixed the problem, but not until we pointed it out. The paving work they did around the pool, flat area and retaining wall capping was very skillful and still looks fantastic, but the process was disappointing. Their quote was around the same as others, but we didn't feel it was value for money.
Comments on this review (
0
comments)
Reviewer: tootsie
Submitted: 11 June 2012

Job type:
New build
Start/Finish
Sep 2010 to Oct 2010
Job location:
Red Hill, QLD, 4059

Trades/services used:
Landscaping
Paving
Project Managers

Tell a friendTell a friend

Overall rating
3
Quality
3
Accuracy of quote
3
Reliability
3
Communication
2
[X cancel]